Laura E Patrick Photography

Assignment 2 – Elements of Design

After attempting Assignment 2 with food items, I decided that I thought I might be happier to pursue something which I get more pleasure in and feel more drawn towards. I’m really interested in capturing street details and architecture – looking at structures and buildings in new ways and decided to switch and direct this assignment towards architectural and structural settings.

Starting out I had a few themes running through my head – the idea of reflections on a city/ cities, looking at the beauty of some old and new structures.

As recommended by by tutor I read a few books on more contemporary photography. I particularly liked how the chapters were divided by themes according to motivations and working practises in Charlotte Cotton’s The Photograph as Contemporary Art”. I was particularly drawn to the chapters on “Deadpan” and “Something from nothing”.

In Chapter 3 Deadpan, which from my understanding of it involves a detached approach from the photographer with little sentiment  having a very neutral and objective view. There are many different subjects of these photographs including architectural sites and landscape scenes.

The next Chapter on “Something for nothing”was also really interesting and the idea of showing non human often quite everyday objects and making them the focus of the photograph is interesting. I like the idea of taking notice of something which otherwise in our daily life’s we would pass by. Although the objects retain the original look of their intended purpose, by placing them in a new context; representing them in a new way there is a deeper conceptual aspect to the photos. Examples of subjects include objects discarded, decay or more formally placed items stacked or arranged for effect. Initially with this sort of image my thought is why do they justify being photographed. But taking a step back as the text suggests surely by being photographed we are inviting the viewer to look at the object in a new way and reconsider – why shouldn’t they be photographed. More on this in the post I wrote on Richard Wentworth.

Its really got my thinking about more conceptual based images looking ahead some thoughts I’m having are directed towards vernacular photography – capturing the everyday and overlooked people/ details interesting engaging images/ street details.

I also enjoyed Susan Bright’s The Art of Photography a book I’m continually looking over. From my readings I came across the work of  Joel Sternfield. Looking at works by Joel I particularly liked his series of shots based around the High Line in NY which I visiting myself on a trip this week (October 2014). Unfortunately, I struggled to get shots anywhere near as good as Joel’s probably due to the fact that the place was heaving with tourists and that his shots were from before the sight was redesigned as a park within the city.

Looking East on 30th Street on a Monday morning in May, 2000.

Joel Sternfeld – available from http://thedrawbridge.org.uk/issue_2/walking_the_high_line/ [Accessed 10th October 2014]

For the assignment then I managed to seek out the elements of design based around the theme of architecture and structure.

The image below clearly shows a strong diagonal across leading the eye down the page into the distance. I think black and white create a stronger visual appeal and helps to focus on the linear element. The small faint lines of the telegraph wire also create an additional element of design.

Diagonals

Diagonals

curves

Bench curves

Thinking about the deadpan and something for nothing concepts that I came across I thought this curved structure in a play park was quite interested. I wasn’t quite satisfied with it though and the curved structure of this museum interior is stronger at showing the curve – however I want to put both images forward.

guggeheim black white

Guggenheim curves

Looking up on this building / statue produces a triangle shape and the window paints are strong diagonals.

traingles

Triangles

With the image below the main statue and the two pillars form an implied triangle. , again I think black and white helps to strengthen/ show the design elements and concentrate on the  implied shape.  The thing I’m unsure about in this image is whether the windows are too cut off at the bottom.

lines

lines – three point implied triangle

Shapes – the image below has clear shapes – the rectangles of the door frame with the circle in the middle which in a way acts also acts as a point.

circles straight jpg

One of my shots from the high line a upturned metal drum with circle shape with repeated circle shapes – thinking about the deadpan and something from nothing approaches.

circles ny high line

Circles also forming a point of focus in the image

Irregular shapes – the shape of the cherubs and the lion are definite shapes but a bit irregular . I’d love to reshot this straight on but its somewhere I don’t visit often.

irregular shapes

irregular shapes

I like the curve of the stair case seen from above

curves

curves

I’m in two minds about this irregular shape image. The statues face and the detailing is irregular but perhaps the image isn’t the strongest.

irregular shapes

irregular shapes

A single point – this looks somewhere really exotic but is in fact a shopping centre in Glasgow and against the sky is the main point.

single point

single point

Triangles

arch / triangles

arch / triangles

Two points the steeple and statue are examples of two points – I also think the placing of the points one being taller than the other creates an implied diagonal line which leads the viewers eye between the two points.

multiple points

two points

I came across this building by chance. Although its also in the process of repair I think theres a real beauty to it as it stands. Normally you wouldn’t record/ photography or think a building like this worthy of photography but I like the shapes and the colours of the stone. The strong vertical lines of the height of the building and the horizontal lines of the window panes make this a good example for the exercise as does the added diagonal created by the working crane.

verticals

verticals

When thinking about shape I was thinking about the course description – shape is both an outline and an enclosure, although the extent to which it appears as one or the other depends very much on the subject and the lighting. Shape, ultimately, defines an object, but it can also be implied in much the same way as a line can.

The three locks here form an implied triangle and the darker padlocks emphasise the contrast. Again I was thinking about the work of Richard Wentworth and in this image I do think there is some intrigue as to what lies behind the locked bright door.

Implied triangle

Implied triangle

After the recent GSA fire the site now has multiple areas of construction and scaffolding. The lines extending beyond the page imply the image is continued beyond the page.

Pattern

Pattern

Rhythm – the viewers eye follows the visual beat of the windows but is then slightly interrupted by the open window.

Rhythm

Rhythm

Inside the cathedral I like the colour and light contrasts and the triangles/ curves created looking down the image. I know its slightly blown out and the top window which was unavoidable. I considered cropping but felt I was breaking off the effect.

curves/ triangles

curves/ triangles

lines

lines

diagonals and triangles

diagonals and triangles

As I walked past this old cathedral my viewpoint showed various elements of design. The triangular shape of the tower, and implied downward triangle from the building and a variety of lines pointing from the metal fence. I cropped this quite tight to focus on the contrast.

Triangles - downward

Triangles – downward

Looking back on my images for this Assignment, I’m glad that I abandoned the food shots for now and focused on architecture and structures. Considering the assessment criteria I feel that technically whilst I still miss focus on some shots I’m improving my observation skills all the time and trying to reevaluate what I photograph and why. Composition wise I’m trying to focus on creating an interesting / good composition at the time of shooting rather than rely on cropping. I’m keeping in mind some of the techniques with composition – rule of thirds, or filling the frame yet sometimes am trying to develop my own instinct.

I think my images are of fairly good quality although some are more striking than others. I’m most pleased with the first image of the diagonal building. I found converting some photos to black and white enhanced the elements of design and visual contrast which were most important for this exercise.

I’ll admit that the realms of some areas of contemporary / conceptual photography leave me questioning but I do feel that I have a better understanding and am trying to think more conceptually when I take my shots. In particular I found that reading the two books I’ve mentioned above have really helped my learning and I will continue to research and learn from examples/ photographers as I continue.

I have started to really think about what is appealing to me in images and in particular am drawn to photographing street elements and architecture. A few concepts which I’m thinking about are making the viewer reconsider scenes and objects that are often either overlooked despite them being relatively everyday sights, looking at buildings from a different viewpoint and considering travel and tourism and how there are many similarities between cities across the world. The idea of being a tourist in your own city.

Ideas going forward of images I want to explore – looking in on and seeking out unusual sites and detritus – if I could photograph in windows (might be a bit controversial), looking out for unusual vantage points and ways of seeing,exploring and capturing sites we would normally ignore and come to accept.

Cotton, Charlotte, (2009). The Photograph as Contemporary rt (2nd revised ed), Thames and Hudson

Bright, Susan, (2011) Art Photography Now, Thames and Hudson

Feedback on Assignment

I decided to update some of my images after being drawn towards some architectural shots in New York.

The brooklyn bridge shot below includes lots of lines and diagonals and by walking to the centre of the bridge I think I obtained a balance composition. Converting to black and white I think emphasises the strong lines.

brooklyn bridge black white - Copy

brooklyn bridge centre

Looking up at the three buildings in this image created a strong triangular relationship as the eye settles on each of the buildings.

buildings black white - Copy

At the high line park this metal barrel has circles and lines working together.

high line

lookin up

The buildings below and indeed the image of this new World Trade Center have a strong pattern to them. With the other building in the background I think it breaks up the pattern and adds an element of rhythm to the overall image.

 

wtc - Copy

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 13, 2014 by in Assignment 2.

Archives

Categories